Conference Officials

Conference co-chairs:


Professor Paul Mitcheson (Imperial College London)

Paul D. Mitcheson (SM12) received the M.Eng. degree in electrical and electronic engineering and the Ph.D. degree in micro-power motion based energy harvesting for wireless sensor networks from the Imperial College London, London, U.K., in 2001 and 2005, respectively. He is currently a Professor in Electrical Energy Conversion with the Control and Power Research Group, Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department, Imperial College London. His research interests include energy harvesting, power electronics, and MHz wireless power transfer to provide power to applications in circumstances where batteries and cables are not suitable. His research has been supported by the European Commission, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, and several companies. Prof. Mitcheson is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and is on the executive committee of the UK Power Electronics Centre. He was general co-chair of PowerMEMS 2013 in London..



Professor Hubregt Visser (Eindhoven University of Technology)

Hubregt J. Visser was born in Goes, The Netherlands, on October 26, 1964. He received the M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, The Netherlands, in 1989 and the Ph.D. degree in applied sciences from Eindhoven University of Technology and Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, in 2009. In 1990, after fulfilling his military service at TNO Physics and Electronics Laboratory, The Hague, The Netherlands, he joined the same laboratory as a civilian. He has participated in several projects concerning near-field antenna measurements, monolithic microwave integrated circuits design, and phased-array antenna design. From mid-1996 to mid-1997, he was stationed at the European Space Research and Technology Centre, RF Systems Division, Noordwijk, The Netherlands, where he worked on infinite waveguide array antenna modeling. In 2001, he joined TNO Science and Industry, Eindhoven, The Netherlands where he has been involved in antenna miniaturization projects. Since 2006, he has been part-time connected to the Holst Centre, Eindhoven, The Netherlands, and since 2009, he has been with the Holst Centre as an employee of imec. Here he is working on wireless energy transfer. Since 2014 he is a part-time full Professor at Eindhoven University of Technology, where he teaches antenna theory and performs research in the field of wireless energy transfer. He is the author of the books Array and Phased Array Antenna Basics (Chichester, UK: Wiley, 2005), Approximate Antenna Analysis for CAD (Chichester, UK: Wiley, 2009), Antenna Theory and Applications (Chichester, UK: Wiley, 2012) and numerous book chapters on antenna theory and wireless energy transfer. He is (co-)author of about 75 refereed research papers and over 12 patents.




Tutorials Chair:


Professor Nuno Carvalho (University of Aveiro)

Professor Nuno Carvalho (S’97–M’00–SM’05-F’15) was born in Luanda, Angola, in 1972. He received the Diploma and Doctoral degrees in electronics and telecommunications engineering from the University of Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal, in 1995 and 2000, respectively. He is currently a Full Professor and a Senior Research Scientist with the Institute of Telecommunications, University of Aveiro and an IEEE Fellow. He has co-authored several books, including Intermodulation in Microwave and Wireless Circuits (Artech House, 2003). He has been a reviewer and author of over 200 papers in magazines and conferences. He is associate editor of the IEEE Microwave Magazine and Cambridge Wireless Power Transfer Journal and former associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques. He is the co-inventor of six patents. His main research interests include software-defined radio front-ends, wireless power transmission, nonlinear distortion analysis in microwave/wireless circuits and systems, and measurement of nonlinear phenomena. He has recently been involved in the design of dedicated radios and systems for newly emerging wireless technologies. He is the chair of the IEEE MTT-20 Technical Committee and the past-chair of the IEEE Portuguese Section and MTT-11 and also belongs to the technical committees, MTT-24 and MTT-26. He is also the vice-chair of the URSI Commission A (Metrology Group). He has won several prizes, including the 2000 IEE Measurement Prize. He is a Distinguished Microwave Lecturer for the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society.





  • Ke Wu (Polytech. Montreal)
  • Alessandra Costanzo (Univ. of Bologna)
  • Nuno Carvalho (University of Aveiro)
  • Dominique Schreurs (University of Leuven)
  • Hubregt J. Visser (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Maurizio Bozzi (University of Pavia)
  • Naoki Shinohara (Kyoto University )



  • Don Tan (Northrop Grumman)
  • Liu-Chen Chang (University of New Brunswick)
  • Yaow-Ming Chen (National Taiwan University)
  • Grant Covic (The University of Auckland)
  • Ron S.Y. Hui (The University of Hong Kong)
  • Udaya Madawala (The University of Auckland)
  • Chris Mi (San Diego State University )
  • Paul Mitcheson (Imperial College London)
  • Chun T. Rim (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Michael Chi K. Tse (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

    Society Meetings & Conference Chairs:


  • MTT: Maurizio Bozzi (University of Pavia)
  • PELS: Liuchen Chang (University of New Brunswick)


    Local Organising Committee Chairs:


  • Lingxin Lan (Steve) (Imperial College London)
  • Juan Arteaga (Imperial College London)